Club Programme

Mallow Camera Club Programme January to May 2019

Sat Dec 22, 2018

Closing date for the SACC POTY competition entries

Sat Dec 29, 2018
Closing date for SACC Nature competition entries

• Print – Open (FIAP)

• Print – Themed – Flora & Fungi (FIAP)

• Projected Image – Open (FIAP)

• Projected Image – Themed – Irish Wild Birds & Wildlife (FIAP)

• Projected – Open – The Natural World

Sat Jan 5, 2019

SACC POTY judging

The Horse & Jockey, Co Tipperary

Mon Jan 7, 2019

• People show their SACC POTY entries digitally

• Review the Club program of Jan to May

• Talk and images by Denis O’Brien on his Mount Everest climbing experience.

Sat Jan 12, 2019

SACC Nature Competition judging

The Cabragh Wetlands Trust facility, Cabragh, Thurles, Co. Tipperary.

Mon Jan 14, 2019

20:00 Main club program start

• Show member entries of the SACC Nature competition

• Portfolios: Phillip Kerins & Marie Kiely

• Practical photo evening.

  • Macro or still life, food, water splashes, flowers in ice, find art food, drink. Need volunteers for setups
  • Bring cameras and tripods.
Wed Jan 16, 2019

Closing date for monthly competition.

Theme: People

Mon Jan 21, 2019

20:00 Main club program start

• Portfolios: Declan McAulife & Therese Collins

• Dingle weekend.

  • Landscape & Seascape photography explained (John Hooton)
  • Composition, does and don’ts
  • What to bring & equipment, places to visit based on tides.

• Result of the monthly competition: Theme People

Fri Jan 25 – Sun Jan 27, 2019

Camera Club weekend outing to Ballyferriter, Dingle

Meet at Inch Beach @ 16:00

Mon Jan 28, 2019

20:00 Main club program start

• Visit from Pauric McGroder who will show his Fellowship panel about Chernobyl.

• He will also show his failed and successful A panels and his failed F-panel

• Will also show some digital images from Chernobyl.

Fri Feb 1 – Sun Feb3, 2019

Camera Club weekend outing to Ballyferriter, Dingle

Meet at Inch Beach @ 16:00

Mon Feb 4, 2019

20:10 Main Club program start

• Show photos taken during the Dingle weekend 1 & 2

• Portfolios: Fred Ward & Pat Murphy

• Image stacking explained & demonstration (Paul Tips)

  • Photoshop and Zerene stacker
Mon Feb 11, 2019

19:00 – 20:15 Photoshop workshop

• Photoshop workshop Week 1 Beginners and Intermediate level

20:15 Main Club program start

• Portfolios: Mary O’Sullivan & Paul Gallagher

• Photoshop image edit session. Take one or two of your images and step through the complete editing process and how you build up your image.

  • Viv, Neily, Janusz, Paul.
Wed Feb 13, 2019

Closing date for monthly competition entries.

Theme: Macro

Sat Feb 16, 2019

Placeholder for Mono workshop by Brian Hopper
Brian to confirm if date suits

Mon Feb 18, 2019

19:00 – 20:15 Photoshop workshop

• Photoshop workshop Week 2 Beginners and Intermediate level

20:15 Main Club program start

• Portfolios: Neily Curtin

• Results of the monthly competition: Macro

• Using Curves and Levels in your images explained. Viv Buckley

Mon Feb 25, 2019

20:00 Main Club program start

• Portfolios: Lisa Egan & Vincent Higgins

• Photo critique evening. Break out in smaller groups and review a series of images and comment/score them.

Mon Mar 4, 2019

19:00 Photoshop workshop

• Photoshop workshop Week 3 Beginners and Intermediate level

20:15 Main Club program start

• Visit by Clonakilty Camera Club presenting some of their work.

Sun Mar 10, 2019

Fundraiser event for the leukaemia unit in the Mercy Hospital
Children portraiture workshop
Community Hall Mourneabbbey

  • Morning session 10:30 – 12:30
  • Afternoon session: 13:30 – 15:30

Cost: €40 for a half day shoot.

Mon Mar 11, 2019

19:00 Photoshop workshop

• Photoshop workshop Week 4 Beginners and Intermediate level

20:15 Main Club program start

• Portfolios: Brian Power & Seamus Myres

• Demo portrait shoot using Speedlights: Janusz

Mar 15 Mar 18, 2019

Kanturk arts festival.
See Arts Festival program for details

Mon Mar 19, 2019

Bank holiday. No camera club

Wed Mar 20, 2019

Closing date for monthly competition

Theme: Animals

Mon Mar 25, 2019

19:00 Photoshop workshop

• Photoshop workshop Week 5 Beginners and Intermediate level

20:00 Main Club program start

• Portfolios: John Kiely & Donal Kelleher

• Results of the monthly competition: Animals

• 5 image panel night.

  • Print or projected
  • Personal project of 5 images that form a panel.
Sat Mar 30, 2019

Portrait shoot day in the Mercy Centre, Mallow.
– Need to confirm if room is available
– Intend to use two setups, so lights and backdrops etc required
– Models required. Any ideas?
– Need to collect names
– What cost do we charge, to cover room and models?

Mon Apr 1, 2019

19:00 Photoshop workshop

• Photoshop workshop Week 6 Beginners and Intermediate level

19:00 Main Club program start

• Travel Photography session: Morocco (Paul & Viv)

Mon Apr 8, 2019

19:00 Practical Evening in Doneraille Park

Park outside the entrance, as the gates will be closing before we leave

Meet in the car park

Wed April 10, 2019

Closing date monthly competition.

Theme: After Dark

Sat April 13, 2019

Photoshop workshop: Advanced

10:00 – 17:00

Mon Apr 15, 2019

20:00 Main Club program start

• Portfolios: Gerard Roche  & Anne O’Mara

• Results of the monthly competition: After Dark

• Image judging by Neily & Paul

Mon Apr 22, 2019

Bank holiday. No camera club

Mon Apr 29, 2019

20:00 Main Club program start

• Portfolios: Noreen Murphy & Elizabeth O’Connell

Mon May 6, 2019

Bank holiday. No camera club

Mon May 13, 2019

20:00 Main Club program start

• Portfolios: Breda O’Mullane & Justyna Tresicka

• Practical Photo session:

Mon May 20, 2019

20:00 Main Club program start

• Closing date for digital entries for POTY

• 4 colour print and 4 mono print entries

• AGM

Sun May 26, 2019

Judging of POTY prints

Mon Mar 19, 2019

20:00 Main club program start

• Results of POTY and social